Havering MPs in the House of Commons w/e 1st March 2019

Julia Lopez and Andrew Rosindell belong to Jacob Rees-Mogg’s European Research Group (ERG). They abstained in the vote to decide whether to have an extension from the 29th March, 2019 Brexit deadline. This was passed by 502 to 20.1 The ERG decided to abstain on this issue. They are an extremist group of Conservative MPs who are fanatical about Europe.

The vote on the 27th February 2019 split the ERG. The new groupings are:-

1) Extremists: They number about 80 Conservative MPs. It’s this group, which both Julia and Andrew belong to.

2) Ultras: They number about 20.

The difference between the two?

The extremists favour Brexit without a deal and a ban on all immigration except for the highest paid most skilled people.

The ultras agree with the extremists except they probably don’t want any immigration at all. They also seem to favour recreating the British Empire.

1 https://hansard.parliament.uk/commons/2019-02-27/debates/78B98FAF-F95B-42F6-848F-5047AEAC46A8/UK’SWithdrawalFromTheEU

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s